Disconnected, or Not


Early every Saturday morning I used to have the distinct pleasure of a twenty-five minute walk through well-groomed quiet neighbourhoods to my part-time job at a grocery store. Did it for several years. I passed my son’s old high school and a church and a separate school property and playground, several beautiful Rose-of-Sharon bushes, some flowering lilies, a young tradesman filling his pick-up with tools for some Saturday over-time,and the occasional smiling retiree or dog-walker. Birds were always part of the experience, and their singing, particularly the cardinals, finches, robins and mourning doves.A passer-by would usually give me the courteous knowing nod, as if to say, “Haven’t we found the best part of the day?” Two back-yard dogs, Schnauzers, would acknowledge me, the one cranky and barking, his partner apologetic. A couple of times surprisingly, in some green corner, I saw the sleeping homeless or hung-over.You wouldn’t find me “plugged in” with either cell-phone or music to my ears. This short excursion was “private property”. I appreciated the quiet and the chance to think or pray. Frequently a strain of thought would come out of left-field, apparently non sequitur, but having that sort of character which suggests God origin.

Messages, writings and much comfort and correction have come in this fashion. I enjoy His company. In these special short times I considered myself to be most definitely “connected”. Are we as a society losing the quiet, the time and the inclination to meditate? To smell the roses? Pity.

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

