Stood Up

Nicodemus

I waited

And time passed

Til I finally had to go

A pastor

And a conflict

And he later told me so.

A friendship

My keen hope

And some common light to share

But weeks passed

No progress

Nope, not going anywhere.

That same night

I ventured

To a bookstore down the road

Perhaps yes

Some reading

To alleviate the load

The old tomes

By shelves full

But one stood above the rest

A Bible

Rich leather

But I never would have guessed

“One dollar”

The clerk said

Christ had made a date with me.

And priced so

Preposterous!

Had He wanted me to see?

…His friendship

His counsel

The best that e’er could be.

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

