The Advocate

He said to me

You’re an advocate

And the people bawl and squall

And they come to you

For the best defense

One blue-suited know-it-all.

And the schooling said

That I had the goods

Now to speak for them

When they fall

And the stories came

And the shifty eyes

And the late night jailhouse call.

And my heart grew dense

And my eyes turned dull

To the carnage all around

And I knew my own

Pack of predilections

That I neatly kept

Underground.

And it weighed on me

Mendacity

And I often talked so slick

And I saw the law

As a faulty thing

And the image made me sick.

But the day did come

Reading Job’s old tome

And I saw his pain and tears

And in chapter nine

Frankly, just in time

Christ the advocate appears.

Oh to have just one

Come twixt God and man

Perfect stand-by for all my fears.

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

One thought on “The Advocate”

Leave a Reply

