Psalm 77 (but I will remember…)

Things are not as they ought

I am weary

I am vexed by the evil I see

And much pained by those selfish agendas

That would batter

And ridicule me

That would say I am sick

Without rescue

And abandoned by friends of the past

“For this faith ill-befitting

The present

And its precepts that can’t

And won’t last.”

Still I look for your rescue

Dear Father

And your lessons I hold

In my heart

While it seems you partake

Of the wounding

Must all Heavenly comfort depart?

But a check comes

To all of this whining

And a nudge points

To joys of the past

When your power alone

Saved the faithful

From the Pharaoh, the famine

The blast

From the godless and gloating

Around them

And the straightness

Of living at times.

It would seem I have

Preached myself happy

In reviewing your record sublime.

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

