Dollar Bill Blowhard

This morning sitting in a coffee shop I heard a conversation at the counter. Guy was telling a friend about a home project let out to a contractor…plans this, so many thousands that, buy, buy. Apparently I was hearing the philosophy “I HAVE, therefore I am”.

Kind of sickening. Other men I hear saying, I travel, or I am known, or I am handy, or I oversee…therefore I am.

Take a little trip into the Church and hear folks saying, I prosper, or I have a precious family, or I give to Feed the Children, or I have memorized whole Books of the Bible…therefore I am.

This comes hard after the funeral yesterday for my sister-in-law’s partner of the last 17 years. The image is presented of the fleeting nature of life and that great big territory named ETERNITY yet to be explored. And we are eternal beings with much greater things to consider than house renovation and a few available shekels.

http://momentsmidstream.blogspot.ca/2011/06/bluing.html

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

One thought on “Dollar Bill Blowhard”

Leave a Reply

