Mercy and Truth

“Plenteous in mercy”

It sounds like a tree

Abounding in good fruit

Especially for me

And I don’t deserve it

I know where I’ve been

The dark thoughts assailing

The trouble I’ve seen

Somehow You look past it

And smile on your child

Bestowing your goodness

On one so defiled

The words still escape me

I long for your ear

My prayers often awkward

Regardless you hear

And send me some token

That evil must yield

That fretting is pointless

That you’ve won the field

And lately you whisper

Some deeper truths still

I love you my Captain

And yield to your will.

Psalm 86: 3-5

Note: And what is this yieldedness? It does not take us out of everyday requirements. It simply comes alongside and says ‘you can turn the other cheek, you can represent me here, you can be my co-worker in a kind word, a help offered, a comfort ministered, an honest thought put in for my Son’s good work, a darkness shunned.’

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

