Scrambled Before Sunrise

The dream was confused, scary

Full of embarrassment

Woke me at about 4

All in a lather.

Sleep was then impossible

Time to pray I guess

But could I?

Start with the usual thank you’s

A thought lifted up

For a struggling friend

A petition for today’s

Package of demands

Safety and reward for the kids.

But then fuzz and drifting

Why should it be so?

With Father

So totally true and faithful

Constant, right and victorious.

And His Son

Heroic, obedient and in-touch.

His Spirit

Comforting, wise

And the best of teachers

And guides.

That’s it Comforter

Teach me more of prayer

More of the needs out there

And in myself.

The groanings indecipherable

Play their part

And the tongues.

I’ve experienced that.

Things get accomplished

Unwittingly.

And then the simple naming

“Father…Father

I love you

I praise your record

Of rescues

Mine included.”

(Thoughts visit Psalm 107

And His lovingkindness.)

Again I slept.

And the waking

Ninety minutes later

In peace and refreshment.

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

