Obliteration

 

 

I’m watching as my sand runs out
I’m living to the full
I gather all the good times up
I strive and push and pull.
I like the pace, oh yes I do
And many call me blessed
It’s like a nose and grindstone thing
I seldom get to rest.
But then last night I turned the dial
And got a preacher’s rant
That Jesus was the only way
But man, I won’t… I can’t.
The end is just the end you see
I mean to put it off
And gather all the chips I can
Before this frame I doff.
And nothing-ness is my next step
No pain and no regret
No Golden City for the saved
No flames of wrath I bet.
And when my last breath leaves the show
That guy says I will wake
With endless wails and God elsewhere
With Truth I failed to take.

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

