Monastic and Waiting

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As far as I walk

There is much mileage yet

The sights I have seen

Will be bettered I bet

It keeps my eyes forward

Though dark may abound

I know God is good

There are clues all around.

He calls me to listen

He calls me to fast

He calls to the grinding chore

Sameness so vast.

Though restlessness beckons

‘I must see some change

I must tend a grand cause

This place re-arrange.’

And Psalms at the mid-day

And Psalms in the night

I sing with my Brothers

Well versed in this fight

Not all of them winsome

Not all friends by choice

But comrades still searching

With one common Voice

With exquisite Love

For the Gospels and Cross

The smallest light coming

Worth all other loss.

I’ve learned to love silence

To read in the shade

To marvel at lakeside

To stroll through the glade.

My skills come in handy

For our enterprise

For hosting retreaters

Or hurt otherwise.

And still I press to it

The hope unfulfilled

A vessel more fitting

For what Christ has willed.

To see as He saw us

When humbled and slain

And glimpse the bright Kingdom

The humble will gain.

(Inspired by the beautiful book Trappist by Michael Downey, 1997 and featuring Mepkin Abbey, Moncks Corner S. C.)

Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

