Canticles Five and Six

Faint with love!

I missed the moment

When my King was at the door

Groggy slept

While He was knocking

Kept my feet from freezing floor

Finally rose

To catch the visit

But my Love was sadly gone

Now I tread the

Streets of dawning

Trusting He will show anon.

Have you seen Him

Women, Sisters?

Watchmen of the City’s weal?

But you beat me

Cautious, caustic

Thinking all my flame unreal.

He has pledged

A sure betrothal

He will meet me ‘long the way

And His garden

Will delight us

With the amorous scents of May.

Shulammite

He calls me smiling

Fairest maid can this be true?

Yes oh yes

My only answer

Every doubt He will subdue.

 

http://momentsmidstream.blogspot.ca/2009/07/wedded-to-you.html


		
Published by

issuudotcomslashdewane

Married and father of two. Living in Waterloo, Ontario. Workplace health and safety professional. Blogger. Poet. Nature hiker. History buff. Inspirational writer. Newsboy for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

